Resident Council

The Resident Council (RC) at Wayne State University is a forum for residents to communicate and exchange information with each other relevant to their ACGME-accredited programs and their learning and working environment.  The RC comprises resident representatives appointed by their programs, but all residents are welcome to attend these meetings.

Starting in the summer of 2020, the RC will meet monthly as virtual events (MS Teams), on every second Tuesday of the month from 6:30-7:30 pm.

The RC serves as an integral line of communication between residents, faculty and staff.  The Office of Graduate Medical Education is committed to advocating the highest quality of education and patient care experiences to all residents in an atmosphere of safety, mutual respect and teamwork. The RC is a venue by which residents can organize events and bring issues and concerns in a non-threatening and confidential manner to the Office of GME and the GMEC. Representatives share ideas and educational experiences to further professional development and increase the quality of medical practice. The council president is a member of the GMEC and she/he or her/his designee presents information from RC meetings to the GMEC. The president or designee is also a member of the GMEC Subcommittee for Compliance and Improvement.

Have an idea for improvement?  Please use the SBAR form to clarify and the PDSA form to tackle the issue!

Or contact the 2020-21 Executive Officers:

Ben Maynard, MD
PGY-3, Family Medicine

Ashley Miller, MD                                           
Vice President 
CA-3, Anesthesiology



2020-21 Resident Council Initiatives

  • Promoting the Developing Active Resident Teachers (DART) program, which offers a certificate for residents who complete requirements of the program
  • Developing more active collaborations with the Wayne State School of Medicine students
  • Encouraging Wellness Interventions to boost overall resident well-being
  • Organizing the annual Professional Development Symposium (see below)

2020-21 Resident Council Members

Program Resident Representative Resident Representative
Anesthesiology Ashley Miller (VP)  
Dermatology Nathan Nartker Reema Habra
Family Medicine Benjamin Maynard (Pres) Ashley Aragona
Internal Medicine Victoria Gonzalez Padmini Giri
Otolaryngology William Azkoul  
Transitional Year Abdullah Hafid Bennett Osantowski
Urology John Cochrane Wen Min Chen


9th meeting of the WSUSOM Resident Council (RC) for 2020-21 was held Tuesday, March 9

The ninth meeting of the 2020-21 year was held on Tuesday, March 9, as a MSTeams meeting. Residents who could not attend can obtain meeting minutes from Dr. Maynard, The next scheduled meeting on April 9 will feature the Professional Development Symposium, from 6:30-8:30 pm. 

10th meeting of the WSUSOM Resident Council (RC):  Professional Development Symposium:  "Medical Leadership: Past, Present, and Future" (Zoom event)

In collaboration with the Office of Graduate Medical Education, the Resident Council sponsored a professional development event held via Zoom on April 13, 6:30-8:30 pm on the topic of "Medical Leadership: Past, Present, and Future."  Panelists included Sheryl Wissman, MD, the Chief Medical Officer of Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital; Steven Daveluy, MD, Dermatology Residency Program Director; Ijeoma Opara, MD, Asst. Professor of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine at DMC; and Caleb Sokolowski and Peter Dimitrion, the co-founders of Leading the Rounds, a podcast on leadership in medicine.

11th meeting of the WSUSOM Resident Council (RC) for 2020-21 will be held Tuesday, May 11

The tenth meeting of the 2020-21 year will be held on Tuesday, May 11, as a MSTeams meeting. There will be discussion regarding the upcoming year's council leadership and program members.