Resident Quality Improvement Research


11th Annual Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital

Quality Improvement Research Day

May 10, 2022 - noon to 4 pm

The Office of Graduate Medical Education and Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital held the 11th Annual QI Research Day program on May 10. The QI Research Day provides residents and faculty in our Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, and Transitional Year programs with an opportunity to showcase their outstanding QI research projects.  Here's the final event program, and a link to the Zoom recording.

The following poster presentations were the top two scorers for Internal Medicine and the top scorer for Family Medicine/Transitional Year.  Congratulations!

(1) Overutilization of Amylase and Lipase Testing in Acute Pancreatitis
Presenter:  Alaa Taha
Co-authors:  Alaa Taha, Vatsal Khanna, Ranim Chamseddin, Vesna Tegeltija*
(2) Improving the Pneumococcal Vaccination Rates for Qualifying Adults Under the Age of 65
Presenter:  Saad Chaudhry
Co-authors:  Saad Chaudhry, Padmini Giri, Trishya Reddy, Anoopa Mathew, Shahed Hussain, Joseph Vercellone*
Decreasing Rates of Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infections at Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital
Presenter:  Thomas Hester
Co-authors:  Monica Hessler-Waning, Thomas Hester, Reem Kashlan, Osama Tariq, Bernadette Schmidt, Trishya Reddy,
Jahanavi Ramakrishna, Tess McCready,* Vesna Tegeltija*
* faculty mentor
Academic leadership:
  • Sheryl Wissman, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital
  • Anne Messman, MD, FACEP, Associate Dean and DIO, Office of Graduate Medical Education, WSUSOM
Camelia Arsene, MD, PhD, MHS
Dr. Arsene is the Director of Undergraduate Medical Education and the Associate Program Director for the Transitional Year Program at St. Joseph Mercy Oakland Hospital. She has held leadership positions in medical and public health education and research for most of her career.
Jason Booza, PhD
Dr. Booza is the Assistant Dean of Continuous Quality Improvement and Compliance for the Wayne State University School of Medicine and Assistant Professor in the Dept. of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences. His office monitors the quality of programs in undergraduate medical education and facilitates quality improvement projects.

  Jay Liggins, MS
  Mr. Liggins has been an Infection Preventionist for five years, first at Beaumont Health in Taylor,
  Michigan, and most recently at Ascension Providence Rochester Hospital, GME's primary clinical
  training site. He holds a Master's degree in Epidemiology from Michigan State University.



Robert Flora, MD
Chief Academic Officer and Vice President of Academic Affairs
McLaren Health Care
Faculty advisors:
Sarwan Kumar, MD
Internal Medicine Program Director
Vesna Tegeltija, MD
Internal Medicine Associate Program Director
Zain Kulairi, MD
Internal Medicine clinical faculty
Joseph Vercellone, MD
Internal Medicine clinical faculty
Eleanor King, MD
Family Medicine Program Director
Andrea Milne, MD, PhD
Family Medicine Associate Program Director
Tess McCready, DO
Transitional Year Program Director
Elizabeth Towner, PhD
Dept. of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences